ADVERTISEMENT

Iowa Fall Baseball

GolfHacker1

HR MVP
Gold Member
Sep 22, 2014
I figured I’d start one thread for practices, the exhibition games and Black and Gold World Series.

First day of practice was today, and I really wanted to post this Tweet.

I’ll attend several practices, scout day and probably every exhibition game and Black and Gold series game. I’m no expert, but I’ll post my observations.

I figured I’d start one thread for practices, the exhibition games and Black and Gold World Series.

First day of practice was today, and I really wanted to post this Tweet.

I’ll attend several practices, scout day and probably every exhibition game and Black and Gold series game. I’m no expert, but I’ll post my observations.
How do I get one of them there gloves?

I’d post some photos, but looks like I need a URL, and no way to post photos from iPhone?

Zach and Brody are a week behind. Both threw bullpen. Scoreboard showed velo, ivb, hb and sr.

Brody went through 4 pitches and ended by throwing each pitch.

Last fast ball

Over 2600

I think the ivb and hb reached -10 to -11, and Brody told me he held back.

Timed runs I wanted to capture Coy Sarsfield and Blake Guerin's speed so I went and asked a MLB scout. Coy was 6.6, and Blake wasn't on the run sheet.

Cop was catching, did not see him play 1st base.

Batting proactive the scoreboard showed X velo, angle and distance.

Merrick Matthews was playing 1st base.

Andy Nelson makes base hits. I like his style.

Blake Guerin bats "smoothly" for lack of better description.

Joe Connolly bats both ways. Freshman.

Brennen Dorighi took batting practice in shorts with a wood bat.

6 inning scrimmage.

It looks like Merrick Matthews is in the early mix. He hit Chas, Chas didn’t cover 1st.

Chas Wheatley appears to have added movement on his pitches. Warmer weather, so very encouraging. Cooler weather games will make that movement exaggerated and tough to hit.