ADVERTISEMENT

Alabama is a dump

Dbq_Hawk

Team MVP
Sep 15, 2005
Went to Destin for spring break. The south is an absolute dump beside beach towns. I can’t believe how many junk yards, run down houses and trash we saw in rural Alabama and Florida. Came back through Mississippi on our way home to avoid major storms. Their roads seemed decent and a better ride. Memphis is trash as well.

Destin is a cool beach town and we saw a ton of iowa plates which was cool.

Where did you stay in Destin?
Based on your comments you were a tourist, what was your favorite restaurant?

Just curious, why in the F*** would let your pilot leave DTS and divert through MS to avoid weather?

• Haha
Reactions: funksouljon
When I graduated in 2001 my first office assignment was in Mobile, AL. I lived there for 3 years.

It was a very interesting place. The little towns outside of Mobile were like little time capsules of the 1930s.

Reactions: Dbq_Hawk
A majority of the people don’t have it very good in areas were tourism is the economy.

some super rich and a lot of poors. Great places to visit but I am not sure it would be my cup of tea for permanent residence.

the further you are from the ocean the more depressing it is IMO.

Huntsville is a nice city, I would live there. Birmingham is having a nice renaissance. The rest of Alabama is indeed a dump. I don’t even like Gulf Shores, honestly.

Inland Alabama and Mississippi is interesting. You'll see a really nice house and then next to it a run down property with three trailer houses right next to each other. Small towns that look on the decline with nice football stadiums.

I stayed in Nashville for a couple days around Christmas on my way to the Panhandle as well.