ADVERTISEMENT

AR-15s, are they just popular because they look "cool"?

Colonoscopy

HR Legend
Feb 20, 2022
Saint Louis, Mo
According to what I'm reading, they don't provide any functional advantage over many other types of guns available. (a glock, or a hunting rifle)

Or is that inaccurate?

Yes. You can get them, or build them into, in all kinds of configurations, they come in different colors, add all kinds of different accessories on them and they look like what the military carries. Plus they are widely available.

Note, every time you see a cult standing around with them in large numbers, they have them configured in a way that is only needed for combat. None of that stuff is useful for personal or home defense. Heck, an AR is crap for home defense, pistols and shotguns are far better. Their only good use is combat and intimidation.

Very easy to use. Low recoil. Not a coincidence that complete novices can buy one and shoot 10-20 people the next week.

• Sad
Reactions: h-hawk
According to what I'm reading, they don't provide any functional advantage over many other types of guns available. (a glock, or a hunting rifle)

Or is that inaccurate?

I checked your link.

I love the fact that some there think that more people dying from hammers than from guns is relevant.

Besides, is that even plausibly true?

Correct me if I'm wrong but the last time we banned assault rifles we grandfathered in all the existing ones.

I think we should do that again. The value of mine will go up.

Correct me if I'm wrong but the last time we banned assault rifles we grandfathered in all the existing ones.

I think we should do that again. The value of mine will go up.

What is an assault rifle, exactly? Like functionally. Because from what I was reading, they're just semi-automatic rifles. Is the semi-automatic functionality what was being banned?

Definition of assault weapon​