ADVERTISEMENT

"Breaking in" a composite bat

TailgateTom

HR Heisman
Oct 7, 2003
Total noob here, so bear with me. Never had these when I was a kid, but I am going to get one for my daughter's birthday coming up. I understand they need to be broken in, and have read as little as 100 swings off a tee to as many as 400 swings progressing from a tee, to soft toss to 50% pitching speed to 75% pitching speed then 100%. What say you veterans of softball (or baseball, is there a difference in approaches?) bats? How do you know when a bat is broken in, and what is the best/most efficient way to go about it?

First you will want to rub that bad boy down with essential oils, this will help the break in process. I see in your original post that you didn’t mention breaking it in with bunting. For the safety of everyone please break in the bat for bunting. If a bunt is performed without this it could cause the bat to explode, anyone in the infield will be gone. Shrapnel will reach the outfield, and so will a lifetime of PTSD. That’s all I really know on the subject.

First you will want to rub that bad boy down with essential oils, this will help the break in process. I see in your original post that you didn’t mention breaking it in with bunting. For the safety of everyone please break in the bat for bunting. If a bunt is performed without this it could cause the bat to explode, anyone in the infield will be gone. Shrapnel will reach the outfield, and so will a lifetime of PTSD. That’s all I really know on the subject.
mark-cuban-shark-tank.gif

And, by "essential oils", he means:
7a915ca2-9437-4307-b247-4841d4a342ce.69c888c145fbe4ec92273de62184cca8.jpeg

WITELF? We have to break in bats? I have a question then - Wouldn't you get more "bounce" off of a new bat as opposed to breaking it in? If you break it in wouldn't that "deaden" the bat?