ADVERTISEMENT

Do you pay for things for your adult children?

I don't know how you will know how much you will need in advance, so we plan to keep what we have until the very end. I have heard other younger folks say things like "pay me my inheritance now", but that has always sounded selfish on their part to me. Our daughter says she wants us to enjoy it and hopes we use as much as possible to that end.
Absolutely. My Mom had a long term care policy she bought in the 90’s - one not available now - and that was what “saved” her financially the last year of her life. Because of that she was able to leave her four children a decent amount at her passing. None of us have a policy like hers so actually what she left me is invested and available to cover any shortfall in expenses I might have if I have a serious health issue that leaves me impaired.
My children will get whatever I have at my passing.

Reactions: dandh
My parents covered me for a few months after I graduated college. After that I was on my own. They did still help me when I had to have a transmission replaced and couldn't cover it. I've since tried to pay them (now just my mom) back many times over.

I expect it to be similar when the daughter (no pics!) graduates college. She'll probably need help the first couple of months. Hopefully she'll be set up with a job when she graduates and it'll be really short term (fingers crossed!)
When my younger brother graduated from FSU he needed a few suits and business clothes for his job. (1977 and the gold necklace, Nik Nik polyester print shirts were cool at Big Daddy’s but not in his new job) My Dad gave him the JC Penney charge card and a $300 limit. 😂