ADVERTISEMENT

FINALLY! Mississippi State plays Iowa in football!!!

Jun 21, 2001
Burleson, Texas
I'm a Mississippi State graduate, but my family is from Iowa. I have an Uncle and about 4-5 cousins who graduated Iowa.

I've only been to one Hawkeye game at Kinnick Stadium, but I picked a good one- 1985, Iowa beats Michigan (with whiny Jim Harbaugh at quarterback) 12-10 on the last play of the game. After that, I bought a Number 36 Larry Station jersey (which I still have).

Really looking forward to this game.

Last edited:
Mott, this game is a sign. It’s time to put down the cowbell and dust off the Station jersey. Your family gives you love. All Mississippi State gave you was a loan payment.
Actually, I only had a $1000 loan to pay- and that was from when I went to a small,private college my Freshman year (Millsaps). Worked my way through school, and have been debt-free from college for over 30 years.

Mutt, you were blessed to be at the most famous Iowa game in over 30 years. I also have a #36 Larry Station jersey, which does not fit so well anymore.

I go on an almost annual Civil War trip with an old college friend from the UI. I liked Vicksburg a lot. Also Corinth for access to Shiloh up in Tennessee. I live in a city of great steak restaurants and I would put Russell's Beef House, Corinth, MS, right up there.

Nice, friendly people in Mississippi, even to visiting Yankees. I look forward to a clean, hard-fought game. Two great defenses, probably 21-14 or so.

giphy.gif

From the 1985 Michigan game. The night before, me and my four cousins (one had graduated, two were still in school, and the other later helped paint Carver-Hawkeye Arena). We got roaring drunk. We were singing,

"Hail, to the mother******s
Hail, to the old c***s*****s
Hail! Hail! Michigan
Cesspool of the East"

Later, I was carrying one of my cousins on my shoulders, when I tripped and fell into a dumpster. Gave her a separated shoulder.