ADVERTISEMENT

How close are you in real life to your online persona?

I joke around IRL in the same manner as I joke around here, I argue IRL about the same way as I argue here. However, I argue here about 100x more than IRL, so on balance my persona here comes off much different than IRL.

I’m exactly the same. I don’t understand the entertainment value it must provide some for being something different than you are IRL.

Says the dude who’s wife LOVES the roleplay. This past weekend I was the plumber, the week before I was a cop.

Reactions: Moral
I think I’m pretty much the same here on HROT as I am in the real world. Try to be polite but don’t back down from a challenge, hold a variety of opinions but am willing to listen, and don’t care much for groupthink. I don’t see the fun in trolling or playing an alternate personality online.

How about you?
I'm 100% gay in real life but 3% political.

I think that I'm pretty close to the same IRL. I'm pretty cynical about most things - I find that being optimistic about people leads to being let down a lot. I don't talk down to/about "poors" IRL - I grew up "lower middle class", I have family that would be considered poor, and I fully realize that "There but for the Grace of God Go I" - which, even in a non-religious context means to me that if a couple of things go differently along the way, maybe my life turns out way worse. I've tried to impart on the daughter (no pics) that she's been really lucky to this point to have opportunities that a lot of kids don't, but that she's got to make the best of it.

I try not to talk about politics to anyone IRL because, like here, no one's mind is ever going to be changed. I think IRL I'm just as confusing, politically, as maybe I come across in here (if anyone ever actually pays attention to me). All my MAGA family/friends think I'm a hippie Lib, and all the Libs that I'm friends with or work with think I'm this crazy gun-toting extremist Con. I think what I think though.