ADVERTISEMENT

Iowa wrestling champ charged with felony assault

NorthernHawkeye

HR Legend
Dec 23, 2007
Lisbon and Nodaway Valley in recent years. Now these charges.

Looks like the IHSAA needs to mandate some education to all teams, including press clippings and charges and sentencing.

Reactions: lucas80
with-a-pencil-john-wick.gif

• Wow
Reactions: EasyHawk
I've had a handful of wrestlers talk about doing this kind of hazing, and they talked about it like it was completely normal. One instance the story was told in a best man speech.

When I was a sophomore I watched a senior 130lber get lifted against the wall, catch 1 punch in the eye and lose all the color in his face with a forearm across the throat by my 140lb classmate for "checking the oil". Not one person, including coaches made a move to stop it.

That kind of bullsh!t didn't fly in our room.

Seems like something a young Northern would do to prove he isn’t a queer.

This is a more detailed article.

According to a sheriff’s office press release, Blume is accused of stripping off the victim’s clothes and using a pencil to assault him. The crime took place at the victim’s Roland home, according to Lennie.

Blume has been charged with Assault – Penetration of Genitalia or Anus with Object, a class “C” felony.

This is a more detailed article.

According to a sheriff’s office press release, Blume is accused of stripping off the victim’s clothes and using a pencil to assault him. The crime took place at the victim’s Roland home, according to Lennie.

Blume has been charged with Assault – Penetration of Genitalia or Anus with Object, a class “C” felony.

IMO, he should have the book thrown at him, and I'm glad this story is getting attention.

I agree. Something seems to be off in the wrestling community. These incidents keep happening.