ADVERTISEMENT

Is the era of taco pizza coming to an end?

This sounds like a fine opportunity for HORT to crowdfund the purchase of Happy Joe's. We can just run it on here

2 things...

a) Taco pizza with beans isn't a taco pizza, it's a burrito pizza. YUCK. Godfathers ftw. I worked for Godfathers back around 1979 when they first came out with it. Last time I had one was last year...it's the exact same pizza as back then and it was delicious.

b) I keep hearing Casey's has gone downhill (like they have changed recipes recently) and I freely admit I only buy 3-4 pies per year total from 2 different stores. But each of these 2 stores I buy from, the pizza is the exact same pizza I've been buying for 20+ years and is pretty damn good given the price/convenience. Never had a bad one. Dough always fresh, plenty of ingredients, loads of cheese, never takes more than 20 minutes if I pick it up.

2 things...

a) Taco pizza with beans isn't a taco pizza, it's a burrito pizza. YUCK. Godfathers ftw. I worked for Godfathers back around 1979 when they first came out with it. Last time I had one was last year...it's the exact same pizza as back then and it was delicious.

b) I keep hearing Casey's has gone downhill (like they have changed recipes recently) and I freely admit I only buy 3-4 pies per year total from 2 different stores. But each of these 2 stores I buy from, the pizza is the exact same pizza I've been buying for 20+ years and is pretty damn good given the price/convenience. Never had a bad one. Dough always fresh, plenty of ingredients, loads of cheese, never takes more than 20 minutes if I pick it up.

I rode a bunch of miles on the bike today in Johnson and Washington counties. As usual, Casey’s pizza was my fuel. The Riverside Casey’s made an excellent pepperoni slice. The Kalona’s Casey’s made a great sausage slice. I have no complaints.

Agreed. I assume they will just drop the name and keep on going. You can tell it’s family run.