ADVERTISEMENT

Mindset I don't understand

Finance85

HR Legend
Oct 22, 2003
Last week a friend of mine (no pic) posted on FB a cryptic message about needing a place to stay and other help. I texted het to find out what was happening. She replied that her fiance' had been abusing her, verbally and physically, she had virtually no money, and her car had been broken down for 3 weeks. She's a photographer by trade, and does weddings and local events, but has no other source of income. She told me she had applied for government aid. The fiance' is a retired NOLA cop, and some other 40 hour blue collar job. Apparently my friend had been in the friend zone with this guy for over 20 years.

Just 2 years ago my friend was with a NOLA lawyer who had started some charity, and my friend was managing it. The charity was their only real income. She left him because he was abusing her.

She didn't ask me for help, but I paid for her car to be towed to a shop and fixed. She told me to look at FB, which I don't do much, and she had thanked me for helping her, and said she would "pay my kindness forward". I texted her and told her I appreciated the sentiment, but she need to start making sure she could provide for herself before she started paying anything forward. I also told her that she needed to stop being dependent on men, and become independent financially and emotionally. She's very proud of being an "empath".

Wise HORT people, any thoughts?

So many questions.