ADVERTISEMENT

My exhibition observations

perryhawk

HR Legend
Apr 3, 2008
Perry, Iowa
First the qualifiers......this was one very early exhibition game and really what we take from this is very limited, or maybe doesn't hold up very long as the season moves along. More importantly I am no basketball expert, so take this for what it is worth.

Well before the game started a couple of the coaches had the guys out doing some defensive drills. It looked like they were giving good effort and were intent on doing them right. When the game started I heard a lot of talk on the floor between the players...communicating with each other. Particularly Tyler Cook was yelling things out.

Defensively, overall, the game was pretty much over mid-way through the first half.....and there seemed to be a very slight reduction in intensity...I think it was something like 40-12 at that point.

Individually there were a few players that stood out to me....Cook was passing the ball, playing defense, and rebounding. He seemed to have a very balanced effort beyond just scoring. I liked what I saw a lot.

Joe W.....looked to be a major, major upgrade at the wing. He was everything that the people who have seen him play, said he was. His rebounding was very good. His defense looked good, he is athletic and plays with great confidence. He's tough inside, and he's tough outside. His demeanor is really good. He's just very steady and appears to be all business.

I am just stunned that Garza is where he is after what he went through. He looked like the good Garza that we saw at the end of last year.

Pemsl came in for Cook initially I think...and he looked very good. He seemed to play pretty good defense and scored opportunistically. He appears to be ahead of Nunge as the primary backup for TC....again, very early but Nunge appears to be the last guy in on the front court.