ADVERTISEMENT

NFL on ESPN tweeted out this Reggie Roby gem tonight...

Cincinnati was 8-8 that year. One game out of the playoffs and the same record as the Oilers.

serious-cat.jpg

Two things. In college i umpired several of his games that he pitched back then. He was a man among boys. Secondly he played against my brother in law in football. my brother in law was a good high school kicker but Reggie blew him away distance wise when place kicking. He had a brother that was an excellent athlete as well. Waterloo had many good high school athletes from the 60s through the early 80s.

I graduated from Cedar Rapids Washington a long time ago. I once asked my baseball coach who hit the longest home run that he’d ever seen. He immediate said Reggie Roby. At Wash. Anyone who knows Washington’s field appreciates it. It’s scenic and somewhat lopsided. There isn’t another varsity field quite like it. There’s a house in right center field with a pool in the back yard. Reggie homered against Wash when he played for East High and the ball not only cleared the pool, it cleared the entire house. My coach saw it all happen. I love stories like that. Reggie was a special dude.

Reggie's punts were majestic to say the least. Never seen anyone like him since. I remember just how high they got, over the top of the stadium at times.

Reactions: Menace Sockeyes
Was thinking about it, and I’m pretty sure I stood at the plate with him on the mound a few times. Maybe someone can confirm he played for the Tigers/ Fred Hahn? (Optimist league in 70s)