ADVERTISEMENT

Opinion: Texas officials are spreading blatant falsehoods about medical care for transgender kids

cigaretteman

HR King
May 29, 2001
By Jack Turban
March 1, 2022 at 11:43 a.m. EST
Post)

Jack Turban is a chief fellow in child and adolescent psychiatry at Stanford University School of Medicine.
I’m a physician who has dedicated his career to improving the mental health of transgender youths. I’ve treated kids so uncomfortable with their chests that they bind them until they can barely breathe. I’ve seen cases of teens so distressed by their genitals that they don’t go to the bathroom and wind up suffering intestinal damage; they’re often so hunched over it looks as if they want to disappear into themselves.
The dual traumas of their bodies developing in ways that don’t match their gender identity and the relentless harassment from their communities are overwhelming. A recent study by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention found 35 percent of transgender teens had attempted suicide in the past 12 months.
ADVERTISING
Yet last month, Texas Gov. Greg Abbott and state Attorney General Ken Paxton worked together to label as “child abuse” standard-of-care medical practices for transgender youths that have been endorsed by major medical organizations, including the American Academy of Pediatrics and the American Academy of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry. They also directed the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services to investigate parents who help their children access such care.
This tragic mistake is on par with putting children with diabetes into foster care because their parents gave them their insulin.