ADVERTISEMENT

Our current backcourt....

perryhawk

HR Legend
Apr 3, 2008
Perry, Iowa
Ulis is an interesting case. IF he could make the shots at the rim that he gets and then reduce turnovers......he'd really be a solid PG. Are each of those possible? The answer is yes of course. Reducing turnovers appears to be mostly a decision making problem. The way he struggles scoring at the rim is hard to understand,

Strengths are that he plays decent defense, he's a pretty good passer, and a decent free throw shooter.

Connor really is steady as a rock. I am no expert...but it appears to me that the only time he misses a 3 point shot is when he is leaning slightly. When he leans back, he's short. When he leans left or right, that is the direction he is off. This guy is worth his weight in gold.

Tony has kind of been like Payton...just not as much of a slump. IF he can find his groove we could be in for a good stretch run. I think that getting back in that groove pretty much comes down to hitting his shot with regularity. Right now he appears to be playing frustrated and pressing a bit. That has often resulted in his complaining to the ref while not running back on defense like he should/can. He has been good defensively and did a really good job rebounding today...

Dasonte.....he's a freshman with a bright future. Needs to get stronger and get in the flow...I think he will take a good step forward next year and can still be a factor this year depending on how things go.

Josh D......just like Dasonte, he's playing like a freshman but seems to be more in tune defensively. He needs to get stronger and get some more time behind him related to that injury. Once he gets stronger and plays more confidently he will be a very good piece for this team.

Would love to hear how Nimmers looks in practice.