ADVERTISEMENT

"Positionless" Basketball and the Hawkeyes....some thoughts.

perryhawk

HR Legend
Apr 3, 2008
Perry, Iowa
Obviously I am not an expert, and in fact something far less when it comes to basketball experience and coaching/building a team.

So, big picture. Quite some time ago, I don't believe it was right when Fran took the job, but at some point he talked about wanting a team make up that allowed them to play "positionless" basketball. I don't think that we are quite there yet, and I don't know if it is completely possible to have a team that is 100% positionless, but here are some thoughts.

I think it's easy to see the 2-3-4 positions manned with guys who are 6' 3" or 4" to guys who are 6' 9" or 10" and really athletic. I think the main trait there is guys who have good lateral quickness along with good ball handling and passing skills. Being able to shoot reasonably well from the outside and being able to get to the rim are important on the offensive end.

The parts of positionless that I struggle with are primarily at the PG and a little bit at the center position.

So, how does our current team look under those needed attributes? I think pretty good....but mostly lacking in the post. I am a pretty positive fan and I don't make critical statements lightly...so, I say this more from the prospective of being analytical/objective know that I could be wrong...that statement is this, at this point I see Rebraca more as a backup at the PF position than I do as the starting post. Could he get where he needs to be to fill that front line position adequately? Maybe. I think FR can run pretty well and could develop enough offensively that he can hit shots often enough that it pulls a defender away from the basket.....but, he doesn't appear to have the length or leaping ability to effectively defend big guys in the post.