ADVERTISEMENT

Public speaking

SSG T

HR Legend
Jul 10, 2002
I was at a training event for my job today. And, well, there are a lot of people who need training and practice at public speaking.

Don't read the slides verbatim. Minimize/eliminate crutch words. Give people time to read or take notes. Speak clearly and loud enough everyone can hear.

It's not hard, but there are things people need to be taught about it and if you aren't going to do it regularly, practicing in front of an audience is so helpful.

Some of the presenters today were REALLY hard to listen to.

Don’t love it but don’t hate it. I do it pretty regularly and feel confident

I can’t stand it but get decent reviews from peers. Definitely don’t read off of slides, that’s a no-no. It helps when you’re talking about something you actually like vs. some dumb topic a professor wants you to pontificate on.

I had to give briefings nearly weekly. Before that I was an instructor, doing about twenty 2-4 week long classes a year. I also had a public speaking course, a bunch of instructor training courses, a course on constructing and giving briefings, plus my 1SG and Support Ops courses which were largely building and doing classes/briefings.

And I still had to run through in front of someone if I hadn't given one in a while. Definitely a perishable skill. And if you aren't used to doing them, get with someone and run through everything with someone that can critique and offer suggestions.

Reactions: Menace Sockeyes
I did it every week for 20 years and some weeks two or three times. It is like any skill in that you have to keep working at it. Go to Dale Carnegie and Toastmasters. Any business that requires their employees to speak should be providing tuition for Dale Carnegie and should sponsor a Toastmasters club that meets at their facility. I know it is a lot to ask for a business to invest in their people but if they want skilled and productive people then it's necessary.

CSB.