ADVERTISEMENT

push up challenge

QChawks

HR King
Feb 11, 2013
Quad Cities
I’m four days in. Easy peezy so far.

xLPXSkE.jpg

So when I was a freshman in college I weighed about 140lbs soaking wet. My roommate was about 200lbs of lard and used to play HS football. Somehow we got talking about who was more pathetic and we concluded that it would be decided by a push-up challenge. So we went into the hallway and did about 2 dozen terrible push-ups before gasping for air. Others in the dorm tried as well. Everyone sucked. Deciding that we were all pathetic we decided to do them every night thereafter. The next night we all did about 20 together. The following night we lost a few guys. The next night we lost most the rest. By the end of the week it was just me. By the end of the semester I had switched to push-up bars because I needed more of a challenge and was doing sets of 50 and 1000 push-ups a night. Would do them before I'd go out drinking.
Two funny things. First, when I started I was holding my breath and pulled an ab muscle. Thought I had a hernia until I saw the Dr. He asked me right away if I had just started exercising and if I was breathing. Second, was that in the beginning I was pushing more with my right arm and my right trap became comically larger than my left. Took months to balance it back out.
I put on about 25 lbs of muscle before getting terribly sick the next fall and dropping down to 125 lbs. Never got back into the routine again. Probably can't do 20 right now.