ADVERTISEMENT

question about homeowners insurance

mr12182

HB MVP
Jan 14, 2009
Both of my parents have passed. The insurance company says that since the house is now empty, they will continue the coverage, at an increased price, for one year. After that, since these types of homes are bad risks, they'll probably have to cancel the policy. Is this typical and if so, what are the options for coverage? Am new to all this. TIA

I'm not an expert on homeowners insurance, but I've dealt with these types of issues before. What your agent told you sounds about right to me, although I haven't heard of a one-year cap before.

Now that I think of it, I can think of several instances where homes were vacant in excess of one year without any difficulty maintaining insurance coverage.

I don't know what is typical or not for the insurance industry, but I do have a question - why keep the house if you have no need for it? Guessing they own a lot of land that is being farmed and the value of the house is minimal?

Originally posted by mr12182:

Both of my parents have passed. The insurance company says that since the house is now empty, they will continue the coverage, at an increased price, for one year. After that, since these types of homes are bad risks, they'll probably have to cancel the policy. Is this typical and if so, what are the options for coverage? Am new to all this. TIA
As an agent, I can tell you there is a much greater risk of some thing happening. Empty houses have much more loss exposure that ones that are lived in. In addition any loss is typically going to be larger. What's happening to you is very typical

Originally posted by aflachawk:

As an agent, I can tell you there is a much greater risk of some thing happening. Empty houses have much more loss exposure that ones that are lived in. In addition any loss is typically going to be larger. What's happening to you is very typical
And rigging up a trap shotgun is not a good idea. Especially in Iowa.