ADVERTISEMENT

RECRUITING - IT'S ALL RECRUITING

MALOS

Rookie
Feb 21, 2011
I have been a long time student of the sport and like to think I know what I am talking about. After returning from Nationals - one thing is evident. Recruiting wins championships.

Cael Sanderson is not coaching Hall, Nickel, Retherford, and Nolf. These are world champs. Just like, Brands, Koll and Smith are not coaching Spencer, Warner, Yianni, and Fix. These kids are already way ahead of their time and they are true "freaks." One thing is for sure, the future of USA wrestling is bright. These coaches are providing a good environment for the kids, keeping them out of trouble and making sure their heads are right.

How PSU and tOSU are recruiting is unheard of. They are obviously playing with the rules. No question about it. If its legal, Iowa and the Okies need to figure it out.

This win for Spencer was HUGE. It will start a new chapter for the Hawkeyes but, let's be clear, Kemerer is an amazing talent as well. It will be very tough to keep Yianni and Spencer off the 2020 world team - throw in Fix if he can make weight with a 2 hour weigh in.

Iowa needs to KEEP recruiting athletes. Not just brawlers. Look what Spencer did to Suriano. We need more Kemerers, Lees, and Warners. Once Marinelli gets more technical - he will be in the bunch as well.

But, these tournaments are won in the recruiting game and Iowa needs to keep picking it up. As we can see by these results, the effort in recruiting is paying off. A credit to Morningstar but I would like to see Perry on the trail as well.

tOSU graduates Tomasello, Snyder, and Bo Jordan. That's a lot of points.
PSU loses Retherford and they are still the team to beat next year.

But, for the Okie haters that were questioning their existence this year. They bring back almost all their points with Brock, Lewellen, Rogers and Jacobe. But, add in Fix, Gdfeller, Joe Smith and Wittlake and that's an impressive bunch waiting in the wings.

Last edited: