ADVERTISEMENT

So just for conversation, what the heck happened to the Davenport schools?

kceasthawk

HR Legend
Nov 5, 2016
I know its been a long time. I graduated from a Davenport high school in 1977, but back then the Davenport schools were powerhouses especially in football and sometimes on bball as well. Either West or Central played for the State title every year I was in high school. Assumption was pretty good, and then Bettendorf was really starting to come on. I haven't lived in Iowa since 1986 but it seems like they've really fallen off the map in terms of relevance. Admittedly in the late 70's West and Central were the two largest high school enrollments in the state. Both around 3500 kids in just three classes. Did the addition of North dilute the talent pool that much, or what happened? Even recruit wise, we almost never get any kids as D1 prospects from Davenport anymore, and the Quad cities has to still be top two or three in the state for population. Other then a couple of football players from Bettendorf, and of course Baer in basketball we're getting nothing from that part of the state. Just wondering your alls thoughts on whats happened with sports in Dtown......