- Oct 5, 2001
No. You can throw over a 3rd time without penalty if the pickoff is successful, so while a runner would likely extend the lead another step or two, it’s not going to lead to ridiculous leadoffs. Runner still has to stay engaged to the move. EDIT: My original post crossed the ball penalty tied to pitch clock with a balk penalty charged to disengagements. And, as noted, catcher can still back pick without limit.So the runner can essentially get a 45’ lead if the pitcher has met his limits? Seems dumb.
I don’t love the rule, but I don’t think it will be a disaster.