ADVERTISEMENT

SUPRISE!!! Donald Trump has filed a $49 million lawsuit against journalist Bob Woodward

As an attorney, I can't advise a client to record conversations, BUT, I can advise my client what is legal and not legal. Iowa follows the Federal standard that so long as one party to a conversation knows they are being recorded, you are good to go :)

It blows my mind how many times I've had to explain this to opposing counsel. I went to law school in MN and yet I knew the Iowa rule as a 1st year attorney better than some U of I grads.

One more lawsuit for the pile that Trump has filed just for the headline. The rubes like Coffland14 sit up and cheer as Trump goes after the Lib media, but it won't go anywhere. Hopefully it results in another public chastising by a judge and a fine.
My question for the lawyers of GIAOT, including Coffland14, is where does he find the lawyers to file this s***?

WASHINGTON DC
VIRGINIA
MARYLAND

Do they all have the same law on this? I remember back in the Linda Tripp days the states were different. The only way Trump can win is if Bob broke the law in one of those states while traveling with Trump.

I think DC and Virginia are 1 party consent states.

Maryland is a 2 party consent state.

I would be stunned if Bob Woodward, who has been a journalist in that area for decades, taped Trump in Maryland and/or didn’t have Trump’s consent to record, either on the tape at the start or in a signed document.

Reactions: BelemNole
He usually wins these things, right?
It was never about winning. Throughout his career, Trump has used lawsuits or threats of lawsuits to beat down people who don't have deep pockets. He used them continually to cheat contractors on his jobs. It's a big part of his toolbox and he can't get out of that mindset no matter how much money the other side has. Someone gives him a hard time...SUE HIM!!