ADVERTISEMENT

TV/Cable Options...Anywhere

frydaze

HR Legend
Nov 25, 2001
I live in the Iowa City area but am curious to know of what your preference is for cable TV.

I've been long time with Mediacom and now South Slope and pay $130-$150 monthly for just basic cable channels-- many I don't even watch. I plan to minimally downgrade if I stick with South Slope but wondering what others that they find is a good deal and/or offers something as good or better than Mediacom or South Slope.

I am a total novice here so interested to hear.

Thanks much!

I live in the Iowa City area but am curious to know of what your preference is for cable TV.

I've been long time with Mediacom and now South Slope and pay $130-$150 monthly for just basic cable channels-- many I don't even watch. I plan to minimally downgrade if I stick with South Slope but wondering what others that they find is a good deal and/or offers something as good or better than Mediacom or South Slope.

Thanks much!
YoutubeTV. Assuming you have a decent internet connection, I don't think anything comes particularly close.

We are trying Youtube TV during the 2-week trial. So far we love it.
Once you try it, it is hard to go back. OP, here is an old thread below on it. This has been brought up many many times on HROT.

Reactions: frydaze
Once you try it, it is hard to go back. OP, here is an old thread below on it. This has been brought up many many times on HROT.

Thank you so much again!!

Thanks much!
What do you watch and how many tv sets will you have. That is the key because several streaming tv providers are excellent price-wise but have restrictions on the content or simultaneous streaming. If you don't already have a device you will need to buy one, some are cheap like Amazon Fire Stick, and Chromecast, still others are expensive like the Nvidia Shield, etc and then set it up, download the app, pay for it, and away you go.