ADVERTISEMENT

Panther fans, we'll be cheering for you...

El Simbolo

HR Heisman
Mar 6, 2002
...please do the same. Will be fun to have eastern Iowa represent in the Emerald City!

Believe it or not, Ditto! I hope the Panthers enjoy a great run.

Meh, as a UNI grad, I kind of hope they lose. Not a bigger little brother complex around than the one in Cedar Falls.

I used to love rooting for the Cyclones and Panthers. Then, suddenly all of their fans became unbearable after they tasted a bit of success (ISU beating IA in football even though sucking overall; UNI v Kansas and beating IA in bball).

I think the internet and social media brought out the worst in those two fan bases.
Posted from Rivals Mobile

Ever so often UNI will have campaigns to have you turn in Iowa or ISU clothing for UNI clothing. Give them an ISU/Iowa T shirt get a UNI one free.

Iowa fans may give ISU fans grief about the whole little brother attitude. Nothing compares to the little brother attitude UNI shows. Go Wyoming.

This post was edited on 3/15 10:30 PM by hawkcub

Originally posted by dawgs_04:
I used to love rooting for the Cyclones and Panthers. Then, suddenly all of their fans became unbearable after they tasted a bit of success (ISU beating IA in football even though sucking overall; UNI v Kansas and beating IA in bball).

I think the internet and social media brought out the worst in those two fan bases.

+1

With a little creativity by both Athletic Departments, they could collaborate and maximize the number of fans actively rooting for both schools.

Not that I'm expecting it ... just saying it is possible. And you might even generate some good publicity out of it. Every year you hear about schools actively "recruiting" other school's fan bases to team up. What better reason than another state school from 100 or so miles away?