ADVERTISEMENT

New Story Spencer Williams talks about Iowa commitment

Apr 8, 2003
For Cedar Falls offensive lineman Spencer Williams, the scholarship offer from the Iowa Hawkeyes on Sunday was a dream come true. Less than 24 hours later, the 6-foot-4, 275-pound Williams, a lifelong Hawkeye fan, accepted the opportunity and verbally committed to the Iowa coaching staff. We caught up with him on Monday night to talk about the decision, his future with the Hawkeyes, and much more.

Watch our video and read a complete transcript below.

Q: All right, I'm here with Cedar Falls offensive lineman Spencer Williams, who verbally committed to the Iowa Hawkeyes today. I guess first tell me about your decision. How did it kind of come about over the last 24 hours and how did you end up making it?

WILLIAMS: Well, Iowa has really been my dream school my whole life. I've just been really wanting that offer and have been working for it ever since I started playing football. It's always where I wanted to play football in college. Once I got the offer, I jumped at the opportunity. I've always kind of known Iowa is the place I wanted to be. I love the coaches, I love the way they coach, I love the way they recruited me, and I just knew it's where I wanted to be for the next however many years.

Q: Take me through the process. You get back from their camp yesterday and have the offer in hand. Where do you go from there as far as making the decision?

WILLIAMS: Just on the drive back I was thinking about it and just thinking, "Wow, this is really happening." It was awesome. All the hard work is paying off and I've just got to keep at it and keep going.

Q: Then you make the call. Who do you talk with?

WILLIAMS: I talked to Kirk Ferentz. I was talking to Brian Ferentz and then I got Kirk Ferentz's number, so I just called him and committed to him.

Q: What was his reaction?