ADVERTISEMENT

What if doctors wore body cameras?

Should Doctors and Nurses wear body camera's?

• Yes

Votes: 5 23.8%
  • No

Votes: 9 42.9%
  • WTF?

Votes: 7 33.3%

• Total voters

binsfeldcyhawk2

HR Legend
Gold Member
Oct 13, 2006

Black people face racism and worse health outcomes in hospitals. It’s time to document it​

Like police officers, doctors and nurses make life-and-death decisions. Yet the disproportionately poor and racist care that leads to the harm and death of Black patients largely goes unchecked. If more police are wearing body cameras, doctors and nurses should, too. After all, if health care professionals aren’t engaging in racist behavior, there should be no problem.

As a physician, I have witnessed countless racist behaviors toward Black patients, often coupled with conscious and cruel statements. I have heard White nurses joke that young Black children will probably join gangs and doctors describe the natural hair of Black people as “wild” and “unkempt.” I have seen Black patients unnecessarily physically restrained. I have stood in the emergency department as a Black teenager died from a gunshot wound while White staff chuckled, saying he was “just another criminal.”

This seems like an exceedingly stupid idea.

Maybe everyone should be required to wear a body cam wired for sound. I mean, we can't let people just say bad things about others.

Reactions: eb05
I mean some level of racism is present in healthcare. We should recognize that. I believe studies have shown that doctors are much more willing to hand controlled pain meds out to white people than black people.

That having been said I don't see the solution being body cams for doctors. People want to keep their health info between them and their doctor and footage could easily leak.

I'm not sure what the solution is but I really doubt body cams is it.

I have heard White nurses joke that young Black children will probably join gangs