ADVERTISEMENT

What would it take to fix the running game this year?

RagnarLothbrok

HR All-American
Apr 4, 2023
Looking for “expert” opinions only. Lol.

But seriously, any ideas? I’ll be honest, I was encouraged by everything I saw on Saturday with the exception of that (I’m not fond of Brian’s play calling either but that’s another matter).

Can it be fixed this year? I have my doubts and have expressed I believe it’s more schematic, but I am no expert. I’m just looking for some type of encouragement because what I saw on Saturday was pretty discouraging. Everything else I thought was either good, promising, or fixable.

Getting productivity out of the run game IMO is the difference between 10-2 and 7-5. Thoughts?

Go away from zone blocking.

Zone is fine, but inside in short yardage, yes I believe we need some variance. The penetration is crushing us!!!

As for the play calling, I don’t really know. I think that’s an easy target really.

With that said, we need way more consistency for sure!

But seriously, any ideas? I’ll be honest, I was encouraged by everything I saw on Saturday with the exception of that (I’m not fond of Brian’s play calling either but that’s another matter).

Can it be fixed this year? I have my doubts and have expressed I believe it’s more schematic, but I am no expert. I’m just looking for some type of encouragement because what I saw on Saturday was pretty discouraging. Everything else I thought was either good, promising, or fixable.

Getting productivity out of the run game IMO is the difference between 10-2 and 7-5. Thoughts?
Not sure you can "fix" a problem during the season.

Maybe need to go hat on hat in shorter yardage plays. Spread the line out more, including the WR's....throw quick out passes to the WR's and use those like running plays to keep the defense from stacking the box.....THEN start running from the same formation. Use play action and misdirection.

Finally: don't always run from tight formations! Play action!