ADVERTISEMENT

Zadick!

Outstanding news. Making Iowa and Montana proud. A great Hawkeye, from a great wrestling family who has been coaching in one capacity or another with USA wrestling (since 2008 I think) and worked his way up the ladder. Another wrestler proving that hard work and dedication pay off. Congrats Bill.

I've been pulling for Zadick to get this for a couple years. Glad he's getting his shot. I'm pretty sure this is why Slay is leaving as well. You're right, this would be a great job for Metcalf for a couple years and then return to Iowa City in a couple years.

Reactions: HIWILLE
Kudos to Bill! While it probably would be an excellent opportunity I hope Metcalf does stay that one more year, but having two former Hawks in Colorado says a hell of a lot about Iowa's program.

I don't see Brent having the resume for a job like that.

Since he graduated(2010), he has been the U.S. representative at 65/66kg in 2010, 2013, 2014 and 2015. In 2011 and 2012 he took 2nd at the Trials. Over that time he has wrestled, and medaled, ALL OVER THE PLACE Internationally.

He may not have won a World Medal, but I would say his resume, along with his recent freestyle experience on the mat, make him a great candidate for an Assistant Coach.

Since he graduated(2010), he has been the U.S. representative at 65/66kg in 2010, 2013, 2014 and 2015. In 2011 and 2012 he took 2nd at the Trials. Over that time he has wrestled, and medaled, ALL OVER THE PLACE Internationally.

He may not have won a World Medal, but I would say his resume, along with his recent freestyle experience on the mat, make him a great candidate for an Assistant Coach.

He's never won a world or Olympic medal and he's never coached. That's going to hurt his chances. Brent's a good guy and will make for a good coach but those things could hold him back should he want the job.

Reactions: Hawkeyecurtis81