ADVERTISEMENT

Adjustments or execution?

Bierhalter

HB All-State
Aug 15, 2023
We all saw that the difference in offense between the first and second halves was night and day. I'm no expert, so was the difference down to adjustments by the offensive staff, execution by the players, or both? What adjustments, if any, did the coaches make to help the offense perform much better in the second half?

Reactions: 1809joel
Cade’s confidence after a couple scrambles changed the way he played the game. It’s one thing to have a conservative offense. It complicates things when you have a qb playing conservatively in an already conservative offense. That’s what we’ve had since Petras. Today in the second half Cade took chances because I think he had confidence he could get back anything he might give away. Letting his targets make plays instead of trying to be exact. Much closer to a Stanzi-like presence on the field in the second half. Some of those balls today might be ints against a better defense, but they can also be big plays in our favor. Have to take a shot.

why-not-both-why-not.gif

We all saw that the difference in offense between the first and second halves was night and day. I'm no expert, so was the difference down to adjustments by the offensive staff, execution by the players, or both? What adjustments, if any, did the coaches make to help the offense perform much better in the second half?
Both. Lester has said that he is going to run some plays and see how the defense reacts then adjust. As I said in another thread, as the season goes on and our offense has more tape on defenses, I would think they will come out a little faster. BUT also the team executed better.

Reactions: BonzoFury
Cade quit playing so tentative, we put our best RB in and our D caused 4 or 5 end of game injuries in the 1st half.