ADVERTISEMENT

Adolescent golf clubs

jberesford

HR All-American
Dec 1, 2001
The stepson has maxed out his junior clubs. He started on a brand new set of Callaway XJs and is on the hump of that perfect divide of maybe being good if he tries harder or being a waste of money.

I'm a former competitive player that is still better than most but I was mostly self taught that grew up on cut down clubs at the city course. I'm a club member as an adult who calls bullshit on a 13 year old needing custom fittings. He's shorter than average and likely to remain so as an adult. I took him to the simulator and gave a pretty thorough run through on the demo set for the tallest set of junior clubs, as well as the lady friends set, thinking they were good for his height, as well as my own sticks. He was very similar across the board on all 3. Biggest difference was hitting drives, but that's the easiest club to handle individually.

If he were taller I'd love to just graduate him on to some of my older sets, or could cut some down, but im told by the shop guys that its a bad idea. Anyone else deal with an early teen that lacks height but has good swing speed? I was really hoping his junior set would carry him into adult sizes but I don't want to force him into it just yet if he can't do it.

The stepson has maxed out his junior clubs. He started on a brand new set of Callaway XJs and is on the hump of that perfect divide of maybe being good if he tries harder or being a waste of money.