ADVERTISEMENT

Anyone read any good books lately?

BrianNole777

HR All-American
Jan 27, 2023
I'm an amateur Vietnam War historian.

I just finished the classic book: "The Best and the Brightest" about how the geniuses in the Kennedy administration got America involved in the quagmire of Vietnam.

Many of them were Harvard professors or Ivy league scholars (Robert McNamara, McGeorge Bundy, Walt Rostow, Dean Rusk, Avril Harriman) who totally screwed up Vietnam.

The book was 670 pages and felt wayyyy too long. It was a real slog. I barely finished it. The author (also a Harvard alum) seemed like he wanted to put every detail in it. After the first half of the book, I would put my cell phone timer on for 40 minutes at a time while reading for 14 days in a row to force myself to complete it.

I was relieved to be finished.

I just started reading "Confessions" which is another classic by Saint Augustine.

How about you?

Last edited:
Reactions: h-hawk
I read VN books from time to time. You probably have read The Last Medal Of Honor by Pete Billac. There are a couple of books regarding sniper Carlos Hathcock that you also may have read . Those have been out for quite a few years.

Reactions: BrianNole777
Im reading The Pacific now. About the WWII battles in the Pacific w Japan. A good read. I also finished reading A Stranger in the Woods. About a guy who went into the woods in Maine and didn't come out for 27 years. Kind of an unbelievable story. Also a wonderful survival tale is the book 438 Days. About a Central American fisherman who was stranded in his little fishing boat in the Pacific for 438 days. And survived.

51Q5jBrtvAL.jpg

I just finished the classic book: "The Best and the Brightest" about how the geniuses in the Kennedy administration got America involved in the quagmire of Vietnam.

Many of them were Harvard professors or Ivy league scholars (Robert McNamara, McGeorge Bundy, Walt Rostow, Dean Rusk, Avril Harriman) who totally screwed up Vietnam.