ADVERTISEMENT

City Boards/Commissions/Council Experience?

billbrasky3216

Scout Team
Nov 16, 2011
I've been thinking about getting more involved in my city and I was wondering if anyone has any experience with boards, commissions, or city council. Would you recommend it? What are your experiences?

I have a little bit of experience from a college internship (worked for the Mayor and was on an Economic Development Commission) and have recently been thinking about applying for a spot on the Planning and Zoning Commission. I have a little experience that might help me to get on the Parks and Recreation Advisory Board. I thought the Public Arts Advisory Commission might be cool, too, but I have no experience in that area.

I'm seriously asking for your stories/recommendations/advice, but please feel free to post your favorite pic from Parks and Rec!

hgGbRht.jpg

Last edited:
Pick a board or commission where you have some
expertise to share. When the meetings are open to
the public you need to demonstrate that you are
in the know about the subject matter. If you have
a passion to help your community then go for it.

I've been thinking about getting more involved in my city and I was wondering if anyone has any experience with boards, commissions, or city council. Would you recommend it? What are your experiences?

I have a little bit of experience from a college internship (worked for the Mayor and was on an Economic Development Commission) and have recently been thinking about applying for a spot on the Planning and Zoning Commission. I have a little experience that might help me to get on the Parks and Recreation Advisory Board. I thought the Public Arts Advisory Commission might be cool, too, but I have no experience in that area.

I'm seriously asking for your stories/recommendations/advice, but please feel free to post your favorite pic from Parks n' Rec!

hgGbRht.jpg