ADVERTISEMENT

How the B1G tournament was won?

PSU197276

Rookie
Mar 8, 2016
Hi all,

New poster to your site but long time lurker. As a 40 yr. wrestling fan I come in peace. I was a lurker because as a fan of wrestling, I know that this site is probably the best for understanding Iowa wrestling. Obviously your history is the best of all college teams and that need to be recognized. BUT, I am a PSU grad. and things have really gone our way since Cael came on board. Not to offend anyone, I think it will continue. I dream of the day that we reach Gable's long term domination.

I actually believe that your squad wrestled better than anticipated. There was more offense than observed the last few years.

I realize that many posters "hate" PSU but again I come in peace. Most of our fans are actually decent and just enjoy wrestling and recognize both good and bad wrestling.

I do know Iowa. My wife is an Iowa grad. and I have visited your state for 35 consecutive years to visit the in-laws. So again, I am not the enemy.

I came upon this article today which attempts to explain why this year's crown went to the Nitts.

I would really appreciate those interested to read the piece and provide constructive analysis. THANKS!

http://www.blackshoediaries.com/201...t=chorus&utm_medium=social&utm_source=twitter

Now that's some analysis there. Interesting stuff. I didn't do a "deep dive" to determine which exact wrestler was which in the "Points Scorers Ordered" chart, but that chart I think captures some of my feelings about things.

"Compare Penn State to 2nd-place Iowa. The Hawks' three best point scorers at this tournament lost 3, 4, and 6.5 points to their Nittany Lion counterparts. That's 13.5 points of the 23.5 margin. Penn State, then, had better top-end firepower at this tournament."