ADVERTISEMENT

Is home ownership a huge responsibility with stuff breaking all the time and endless taxes?

BrianNole777

HR All-American
Jan 27, 2023
I'm considering buying a house in the next decade or so.

I've been renting a sweet deal since 2014. I pay 30% under market value and my landlord said the rent won't go up ever. My landlord is very good. He takes care of everything like the leaking roof, hot water heater that broke, lawn care, broke toilet etc., etc. All the furniture is his except my TV. I have a monthly cleaning service he pays for.

I live in Maryland and property taxes are high and rising.

Is home ownership a pain for someone that doesn't like handyman work or moving lawns?

Please tell me your experiences.

Reactions: NDallasRuss

I've been renting a sweet deal since 2014. I pay 30% under market value and my landlord said the rent won't go up ever. My landlord is very good. He takes care of everything like the leaking roof, hot water heater that broke, lawn care, broke toilet etc., etc. All the furniture is his except my TV. I have a monthly cleaning service he pays for.

Is home ownership a pain for someone that doesn't like handyman work or moving lawns?

Keep living with your parents as long as they will let you.

You sound like a condo is more your speed, but it certainly has it's own challenges. And if you have the freedom, wait until the market tanks and then buy.

Reactions: BrianNole777

Things break regardless if you own or rent and you still have to pay for it one way or the other.

The difference is one offers you an equity stake and the other offers nothing.

In your case, you have a sweet deal now but it still is not guaranteed. Your landlord could sell or die at anytime and without a contract, your arrangement could change.

Home ownership is one of the most painful AND most rewarding experiences. Think risk/reward. Homeownership is high-risk/high-reward. I would argue renting is medium-risk/zero-reward.