ADVERTISEMENT

What did you do right after graduation?

Ray Kinsella

HR Heisman
Oct 1, 2001
Omaha, NE (b&r Dyersville, IA)
Did you already have a job lined up? Take time off? Work odd jobs until you landed a full time? Go straight into grad school?

While I graduated in May with my Air Force commission, my assignment at Offutt didn't begin until September. I moved in with my parents and worked a night shift at a gas station.

Had some old man in Sioux Falls look at my butthole before being sent off to Texas.

Worked at a bank in Iowa City and drank every night until I accidentally got a real job in July. I applied to get my mom off my case about getting a job and they hired me. Assholes!

After law school, I studied for the bar full time. Then I waited tables at the Drake Diner until I got my first law job. I made more at the Diner. How sad!

Moved from Iowa City to Port St Lucie, FL. A friend and I started a "business" doing odd jobs for the rich old people in the PGA Village.

We always had just enough money for a case of beer and a bag o weed. It was a great two years.

Went directly to law school. Kind of wished I worked a few years between college and law school to get some real world experience, had some interesting non-law job offers but did not take them.

Started my first real job the Monday after graduation, later kind of regretted not taking at least a week off, but needed money (never did do a spring trip or anything like that in college either, always worked over breaks). Ended up being a great place and stayed 21 years, including one move out of state and a move back. Would prefer to still be there, but they were bought and closed and we decided not to move to Michigan after the sale.

Reactions: globalhawk
My last two years of college were different than most. I went to school in the summer and fall, and in the spring I worked (tax time). Graduated from FSU in the fall & immediately jumped into the next tax season.