ADVERTISEMENT

I picked up Rocco Welsh this weekend.

LVCabChronicles

Scout Team
Feb 16, 2015
Though I don't drive a cab in Vegas anymore I still drive Uber when I don't have other work things going on. (I'm a real estate agent these days) While I was bummed I wasn't able to make it over to the Orleans to check out any of the Open I did manage to pick up Rocco Welsh from the Southpoint going to the airport that Sunday night after the competition. While I know a few things about the wrestling world I didn't recognize him. But after helping him and his partner with their bags into my trunk it was clear he was a wrestler. When you know you can spot it easily you know? I noticed the OSU tag on his luggage and after we climbed in I asked if there were in town for the Open and he said he was and i asked him how it went for him and he said he finished 2nd in the U20 and I was thinking they were about the same size so I asked him if he wrestled Arnold and he said he did. He was surprised that I knew who that was. He was obviously disappointed after his loss but he wasn't beating himself up over it. He did mention that he had beaten Arnold before and hoped to get the opportunity again.

I didn't realize he was from PA and soon to be a Buckeye and he mentioned he was in Young Guns and he was very suprised that I knew about that and Strittmatter and all that. I told him I was a big Iowa fan and so the conversation centered on some guys he knew like Kemerer, and Lee and I think Young? We talked about Desanto a bit and his 2nd place finish too and I mentioned how big of a fan I was of his and how the Iowa fans will always love that kid. We talked about HS a bit and he mentioned he actually was in attendance for both Lee vs Desanto matches in the HS finals. I thought that was pretty cool. Naturally we talked about Lee a while and it's not much different than the things discussed here. But Welsh was hopeful that Lee can come back.