ADVERTISEMENT

Let's talk Punting. what's the shield formation going to look like?

icu81222

HB All-American
Dec 4, 2008
Rumor has it, Iowa is going to the shield punt. I am no expert on this topic but if I understand how that works in other programs they put 3 offensive linemen back as protectors.

Have to say, I am not a big fan of using linemen on the punt team. That is 2 or 3 guys that have zero ability to make a tackle if needed. Then you have the punter too.

Is that what this will look like? Or will they use linebacker type guys?

No rumor. It's a fact. Not sure what type of players they're going to assign to the 3 protectors, but I suspect they won't be linemen. Your fears about poor coverage are unfounded, because this is in fact one of the strengths of this formation: getting downfield coverage as quickly as possible.

Here is a link discussing the formation. Pay attention to the players that can pre-release and those that quick release. The goal is to get the main coverage unit downfield as quickly as possible. The video discusses the strengths and weakness of the formation.
www.youtube.com/watch?v=P3kWLyutSiE

Here's a video of it in action
www.youtube.com/watch?v=JRcuHDcpHxM

I am very optimistic that this will work much better than the Hawks previous (pro style) formation, because the coverage unit was so slow in getting downfield. In this formation, the unit releases from the line of scrimmage much more slowly, by design, because the NFL rules are different than NCAA rules regarding how long players have to stay on line of scrimmage before they release.

If you look at video from last year, the Hawks coverage unit was approximately 15 yards from the returner when the returner caught the punt. Way too far away.

Hope this helps.

giphy.gif

giphy.gif

Reactions: BuckRussel