ADVERTISEMENT

For those with an aging parent …

St. Louis Hawk

HR Legend
Gold Member
Feb 5, 2003
Who do you talk to about whether your relative needs to move to assisted living vs. home health aid vs. any other options?

Are there services that evaluate this? Criteria? Start with their primary care physician?

Clive Iowa if location makes a difference.

This parent getting old thing really sucks but any help pointing me in the right direction would be appreciated. Thanks.

Sorry my man. Watching your parents deteriorate ****ing sucks.

As far as a service to help you make decisions in Clive, no clue. I know there are places out there that will do assessments and give you options but ultimately, the decision is between you, your parent and your siblings.

Got brothers and sisters? Anyone live close? What exactly is going on?

Reactions: St. Louis Hawk
First, sorry my man. That sucks, no way around it.

Second, I think you’ve seen me describe what I do for a living since I’m in the estates and trusts world in Des Moines. There’s a few folks around town that help our clients out with this sorta thing. They help people get set up in assisted living, help with Medicare issues, social security issues, etc. They usually charge by the hour after a consultation but it’s often a good use of $$. As far as making an actual medical determination, that’s pretty much up to the doctor to say they can’t live in their own.

Not sure how you DM on here but feel free to do that or I can send you an email.

Good luck.

Florida has a Department of Elder Affairs that helps decide best options and appropriate facilities, and helps with placement as well. I would hope Iowa has something similar.