ADVERTISEMENT

Kirk mentioned a couple things going on with last Friday's kicking game

uihawk82

HR All-American
Nov 17, 2021
I heard this in his recent presser. There were no followup questions to find out what he meant. But that opens up some possibilities about allowing too much penetration by the defense, maybe some slight timing in snap and hold. Kirk mentioned his long discussion he called it with Stevens and how he used the right approach which is to have Stevens focus on the positives in his past success and to focus on a great week in practice.

I am no kicking expert but Iowa has had a long string of great kickers going back 10 years. And for each one once in awhile you see a very old looking kick. Something so odd that signals a lack of timing in the unit, the tilt of the ball being off, laces, etc.

Even the game winner had issues with the snap. If it weren't for a great recovery and hold by Taylor that would have gone poorly as well. I've been wondering if the problem was more than just Stephens. Often times kicks missed that badly have a lot more going on than the kicker. That's no excuse for his missed kick offs though. Obviously the missed field goals was affecting his mental state and it bled into his kick offs as well. Hopefully they can work it out in practice this week and he can get his confidence back.

I heard this in his recent presser. There were no followup questions to find out what he meant. But that opens up some possibilities about allowing too much penetration by the defense, maybe some slight timing in snap and hold. Kirk mentioned his long discussion he called it with Stevens and how he used the right approach which is to have Stevens focus on the positives in his past success and to focus on a great week in practice.