ADVERTISEMENT

This used to be one of the best school districts in Iowa...Bettendorf

I actually agree with him and I'm a teacher. I get the idea for students who need it but this mindset has gone into so many students who don't need it. Everyone should get an A regardless of how hard they work or how good of a product they put out. It's really getting pathetic and in the top 5 reasons why I'm feeling burned out right now.

Well with SBG they are all guaranteed at least a B.

No. It is the 8th grader who is getting rings in a baseball tournament for finishing 3rd out of 4 teams. Yes, I do think it is a problem. Ever since this has been going on kids are getting softer and softer. They don't know what it means to be resilient or work hard... like really work hard.

I had a student ask just three weeks ago that since only 14 of my 31 kids turned in a essay that I let them work on for THREE WEEKS in class that they all deserved an A. An a for turning in their paper on time. Another student was gone when we had a test. I let him finish the test when he came back instead of doing the work. He has since yelled at me how ridiculous it was because he was gone that he should have to make up work. This kid was a starter on my basketball team and when things went wrong it was always everyone else's fault. I have dozens of stories like this from just the last few months.

Again, I know you are getting at students who NEED the pickmeups but stuff like PBIS, no late policy, a million retakes etc are all leading to the participation trophy which is now the letter grade of an A. It means nothing to kids.

Hmmm. You just described my teaching experience.

Beat up some guy at a political rally???????????????????????????????

WTF

You're either senile or have me mixed up with someone else. And if you're triggered by my opinions... put me on ignore.

I'm not "all over the place". I've been consistent in my criticism of selfish, backward Republican policies for decades.