ADVERTISEMENT

Wells Fargo to lay off more workers from its West Des Moines campus as CEO comp rises

Just pathetic that they (DMR) tie layoffs to CEO pay increase.

If CEO has found way to cut expenses without harm to business, then good for him.
Nah, it’s a fair criticism. There’s nothing positive about laying people off. As a business owner I would never take a pay raise while laying off anyone. And how is laying off a portion of your workforce not causing harm to the business? If things were going well wouldn’t they be hiring? Our priorities as a society are completely fvcked.

Nah, it’s a fair criticism. There’s nothing positive about laying people off. As a business owner I would never take a pay raise while laying off anyone. And how is laying off a portion of your workforce not causing harm to the business? If things were going well wouldn’t they be hiring? Our priorities as a society are completely fvcked.
Completely understand what you are saying for private businesses; but WFs “owners” are the shareholders. If the CEO sees a way to cut expenses and increase the bottom line, they will get paid. It really sucks but technology is going to take a lot of jobs. My guess is there will be thousands of layoffs in the banking industry over the next few years, and mostly in the underwriting and Custody departments, which I believe are a big part of WFs DM operations?

Last edited:
I'm confused. Isn't WF a shit employer? Isn't unemployment at record lows and employers are begging to find employees?

WF should be thanked for laying off these people and nudging them out of a dungheap to a better opportunity.
I've worked foe them twice over the years. About 20 years ago in debit card disputes and the middle of last decade selling mortgages. Basically their whole thing is they treat you like shit because they pay you more than the industry standard.

Didn't read the article, don't know who is being cut.

Reactions: NI hawk