ADVERTISEMENT

Foosball in IC

sultanofsuede

HR Heisman
Nov 30, 2004
Is there a bar (or bars) that get any consistent play on a Saturday night?

This post was edited on 3/14 8:30 PM by sultanofsuede

Not really, but that might have changes in recent years. When I was a student there (2006 grad), I played some competitive/money games with a group at Q bar, which has since changed, so I doubt anyone is still there. Every once in a while a few guys got together at the bar at the Sheraton. IC really just never had much for foos -- players or decent tables like a Storm II not beat to hell like the oneS at Brothers or Jake's. The two places where in my experience you could always find a good game and players any night was Ames and Storm Lake.

When I was in school, always heard Ames had a thriving frat foos scene. Iowa city was more old dudes and European guys, but we had some great foos nights at joe's and the que.

Just moved back to iowa city and jonesing for a few games

This post was edited on 3/14 9:32 PM by sultanofsuede

Frats in Ames ALWAYS had good games and with some serious money played for. And Storm Lake has 4 bars with good games on a given night with townies and BVU kids. Tornado's Pub in CR used to have regular games on Wednesday nights, so you could check there. I went up there a few times and they had some decent guys and it was laid back. There just for whatever reason isn't much in IC, which was something that was always odd to me considering the amount of people and bars. I live in Madison and foos is non-existent here, but I've heard there is some great money games in Milwaukee. If I was still in IC I'd try to start something up with you and get a bar to sponsor and host some weekly games or start a league.

Do you have a table at home? Where were you at before and did they have an active scene?