ADVERTISEMENT

How much of the OL struggles are on the OC and Iowa’s offensive schemes?

BlackNGoldBleeder

HR Legend
Jun 23, 2017
The OL has been much-maligned for several years now, which I believe goes back to Nate Stanley’s tenure. Yes, there is youth on the current OL. Yes, Logan Jones looked like a fish out of water yesterday. But are all the struggles of the OL about incompetence, or is it fair to say some of the issues are due to Iowa’s archaic schemes?

I am not an OL expert (and am genuinely asking), but this is what I see nearly every Saturday:

1. Defenses loading the box to stop the run.

2. Defenses playing downhill and flying to the football.

3. Defenses showing zero fear of a vertical passing threat.

4. Defenses seeming to predict where plays are going before the ball is even snapped.

If all the above are true, and you have 8-9 defenders loading the box nearly every play while pinning their ears back and flying to the football because there is next to no creativity or imagination to the Iowa offense, then how much blame/criticism is really warranted of the OL? Again, I’m genuinely asking.

Okay, that’s off my chest. I’m ready to move on from another embarrassing and disappointing effort by the Hawks on the offensive side of the ball. 🤦‍♂️😕

The OL has been much-maligned for several years now, which I believe goes back to Nate Stanley’s tenure. Yes, there is youth on the current OL. Yes, Logan Jones looked like a fish out of water yesterday. But are all the struggles of the OL about incompetence, or is it fair to say some of the issues are due to Iowa’s archaic schemes?

I am not an OL expert (and am genuinely asking), but this is what I see nearly every Saturday:

4. Defenses seeming to predict where plays are going before the ball is even snapped.