ADVERTISEMENT

Work From Home (WFH)

TennNole17

HR Legend
Sep 18, 2003
A lot of companies (not all) are having these conversations now. Employees who’ve worked (or workers hired) over the past two years have gotten used to working from home.

Two part question:

If you can do your job from home, is there a benefit to meeting in the office with people?

My main question: realistically, a LOT of jobs can be accomplished from home. What does this do to the office/commercial real estate space?

Yes I can my job from home - or 98% of it anyway.
We’re considering the second question now as most people haven’t really returned to the offices.

I’ve been working from home since 2012. I’ve never done my current job in an office environment but I’ve built a trusted group of colleagues that I’ve met on different industry trips/events. We will collaborate via text, Zoom, or Facebook messenger. We all live in different cities so in person collaboration isn’t really possible. But we chat several times a week commiserating, getting feedback on options we’re working on, marketing ideas,, etc.

There's ample open commercial real estate where I work. Obviously I cannot work from home in a biotech. So we plan on buying that space cheaply and converting it to wet labs.

Reactions: TennNole17
I live alone.
I can’t imagine spending another 8-10 hours here alone working.

I like the social interaction I have at work

it would be horrible for my mental health if I was here all day every day alone.

I know, cool story.
Hey, I like having my office and lab. I agree with you.

My wife (state of Iowa employee) works from home and goes into work once a week. She has to return the files she is done with and pick up the new ones. She too enjoys talking to whoever also happens to be in the office that day. And she really likes not having to commute 5 days a week.

I’d have to get a huge salary increase to regularly go into the office ever again.