ADVERTISEMENT

Wrestling camps

OpenHawkSurgery

Team MVP
Sep 27, 2017
As a new head coach, I was hoping to get some insight for team camps in the eastern Iowa area. The team has previously went to Loras but I am looking around for more options! Any help/insight is much appreciated!

I was never a fan of camps, I see little value in them. The same money is better spent on a few months at a club, even if it’s only a couple nights a week. When my son was in HS his coach made them attend a couple camps in the off season, and it created a lot of resentment. The JV kids didn’t want to spend the money and have to schedule family vacations around a sport that was not serious to them, serious kids like my son resented missing time at his club and interrupting his strength training, while parents resented spending money for a camp that had little value.

I agree, going to camps growing up was basically practice. work some technique and live wrestle instead. It was kind of cool to get away from parents....

Camps are hit or miss.
Most camps are 3-5 days long and have a couple of sessions a day and you get a different quest clinician each day if not each session. They show their favorite move or two and you get about 30 minutes to work on them while the clinician and few other asst coaches are trying to get around to 50-60 kids. Then the next day/session another clinician comes in and shows a completely different unrelated move. I don't thing much is really learned at camps set up this way.